Denmark (DEN)

Not making too many changes in a team is an art in itself – and it is precisely what Denmark have done over the last two years. With the core of their 2020 squad intact, when they reached the semi-finals, they aim for a medal at the Women’s EHF EURO 2022.

The loss in the 2020 bronze medal match Croatia might have hurt, but it was a wake-up call for Denmark. They have been improving under the stewardship of Jesper Jensen, named coach in 2020. This edition of the EHF EURO will mark 18 years since the last medal won by the Scandinavian side, therefore the stakes are high and the ambitions are also big.

In the first six editions of the EHF EURO, Denmark missed out on a medal only once, when they finished 10th in 2000. Since then, the Scandinavian powerhouse went through different generations, which placed fourth three times (2010, 2016, and 2020) but failed to win a medal. The last tournament started on a high and finished in disappointment on their home court, but it was a true lesson that Denmark definitely acknowledged.

Since Jesper Jensen took over the team in 2020, Denmark have been constantly improving, as underlined by their bronze medal at the 2021 IHF Women’s World Championship, the first time the Scandinavian side climbed on the podium in a major tournament since 2013.

The Danish league is certainly one of the top competitions in Europe right now, with a very balanced line-up and plenty of players that can improve their skills. There is no surprise, therefore, that Jesper Jensen, who also coaches Team Esbjerg, relies heavily on players that are featuring in Denmark, with only five players coming from other leagues – two from Metz Handball in France, two from Györi Audi ETO KC in Hungary and one from SG BBM Bietigheim in Germany. More importantly, though, is that these players have had plenty of time together in the past years, with Jensen relying heavily on the same core of players.

Read more about the Danish team HERE

Latest news

More News

Information not available.

Player Cumulative Statistics Roster
# Player MP Goals Shots % 7m YC RC 2 Min TP
{{item.playerInfo.shirtNumber}} {{item.playerInfo.person.lastName}}, {{item.playerInfo.person.firstName}} {{item.statistics.matchesPlayed}} {{item.statistics.goals}} {{item.statistics.shots}} {{item.statistics.shotEfficiency}} {{item.statistics.goals7M}}/{{item.statistics.shots7M}} {{item.statistics.warningsCount}} {{item.statistics.disqualifications}} {{item.statistics.twoMinPenaltiesCount}} {{item.statistics.minutesPlayed}}
TOTAL {{totalGoals}} {{totalShots}} {{totalShotsEfficiency}} {{total7mGoals}}/{{total7mShots}} {{totalWarnings}} {{totalDisqualifications}} {{totalTwoMinPenalties}}
# Goalkeeper MP Saves Shots % 7m
{{item.playerInfo.shirtNumber}} {{item.playerInfo.person.lastName}}, {{item.playerInfo.person.firstName}} {{item.statistics.matchesPlayed}} {{item.statistics.goalKeeperSaves}} {{item.statistics.goalKeeperShotsReceived}} {{item.statistics.goalKeeperSavesEfficiency}} {{item.statistics.goalKeeperSaves7M}}/{{item.statistics.goalKeeperReceivedShots7M}}
TOTAL {{totalSaves}} {{totalShotReceives}} {{totalSaveEfficiency}} {{total7mSaves}}/{{total7mShotsReceives}}




Cecilie Hoejgaard Brandt (44) replaced by ANDREA ULRIKKA AAGOT HANSEN (21)

EHF competition history

Top Results

European Games
2023 - Champion

European Championship
2022 - 2nd place

ECh Beach Handball
2021 - 2nd place

Top design lines

Key Players

Sandra Toft


current club: Györi Audi ETO KC since 2022

  • Played for TTH Holstebro, Larvik, Esbjerg and Brest Bretagne before signing for Györ in the summer of 2022
  • Was named the IHF Female Player of the Year in 2021, the first goalkeeper to secure the award since Norwegian great Cecilie Leganger in 2001
  • Broke her neck and back in a car accident in 2009 but returned to the court within six months; she has a tattoo marking that moment, an angel with the words "Someone's there"
  • Has the second most caps for Denmark at the EHF EURO, with 35 games, one behind former goalkeeper Karin Mortensen
  • All-star goalkeeper of the CL in the 2014/15 season, the EHF EURO 2016 and the 2021 WCh

WCh: B 2021

EC trophies: EHF Cup 2013

Anne Mette Hansen
Left Back

left back

current club: Györi Audi ETO KC since 2017

  • Started handball at the age of nine and spent her junior years at Ajax Kobenhavn before moving to Kobenhavn Handbold in 2014
  • Her inclusion in the All-star team of the W19 EHF EURO 2013 highlighted her potential
  • A born leader, she is the captain of Denmark's national team and Hungarian powerhouse club Györ
  • The CL All-star left back in the 2017/18 season, when she won her second CL trophy with Györ, Hansen has played for the Hungarian side since joining from København in 2017
  • After featuring in four previous EHF EUROs, this is her fifth ECh in a row; has the fourth most caps for Denmark at the EHF EURO, with 28 matches

WCh: B 2013, 2021

EC trophies: CL 2018, 2019

Bottom design lines

Head Coach

Jesper Jensen


current club: Team Esbjerg since 2017

  • Immediately turned Denmark’s national team around after being appointed in 2020 with a fourth-place finish at the EHF EURO 2020 and the bronze medal at the 2021 WCh
  • Previously worked at KIF Vejen (women) and Aalborg (men) before signing for Team Esbjerg in 2017
  • A former centre back, played at Skjern for 14 years, scored 238 goals in 120 games for Denmark’s men’s national team and represented his nation at the 2008 OG in Beijing
  • His sister, Trine Nielsen, played as a right back for Denmark and works as an analyst for Viasat Denmark
  • Named the IHF Coach of the Year for female teams in 2021, thanks to his excellent work with Esbjerg and Denmark's women’s national team

International medals as a coach: WCh B 2021

Latest news

More News