Generic Header Full Color

EHF EURO history

The first Men's EHF European Handball Championship was EHF EURO 1994 in Portugal with 12 teams competing for honours.

For the first time, 24 teams took to the court in Sweden, Austria and Norway. The 14th EHF European Championship was also the first final tournament hosted by three different nations.

Overall, six different nations have won the Men's EHF EURO to date. Sweden lead the medal table with their four gold medals, but France are hot on their heels having won three EHF EURO events to date. Denmark and Germany have won two championships each; Russia and Spain topped the podium on one occasion respectively.